Paris Tribute

"Liberty Leading the People" by Eugène Delacroix
“Liberty Leading the People” by Eugène Delacroix

It’s hard to believe that three weeks ago I was sipping wine in cafés, touring museums overflowing with masterpieces, and wandering around the streets of Paris with a group of très chics ladies that I grew up with.

Life is ever unpredictable. Yesterday a coordinated series of unspeakable terrorist attacks has turned the world’s attention on Paris like never before.

I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to organize this post originally, and am even less sure now. In the end, I’ve decided to present Paris in pictures, captioned with some of the lyrics from “In Paris” by Elton John to celebrate the city, its culture and people. May safer times lie ahead.

Van Gogh

Degas

Listen to me, let me speak of
Wondrous works of art
That dwell within that fabled city
Its architecture fills my heart

 

Comic stand

Let me tell you I have seen
Where great ideas are born
Illuminating all the darkness
In the corners of the world

 

Louvre

…And walk in wonder through the Louvre
Across the Seine to the Sorbonne

 

20151023_223614

In cafés we will feed our heads
With absinthe and philosophy
Engage the students of Voltaire
And damn the aristocracy

 

Notre Dame

Notre Dame
In Paris the bells of Notre Dame ring out
In Paris we’ll trade our soft voices for shout
I’ll not rest until the ramparts of that city
Stand before us bright and clear
Penniless in Paris is better than the life we’re leading here

 

Paris subway platform

I’ve heard that there’s infernal noise
The stench and cut-throats out to rob
The hungry crowds that fill the street
Where anarchy consumes the mob…

 

20151024_173928

We’ll rent a room above the din
Somewhere along the Boulevard…

 

Eiffel Tower

10 thoughts on “Paris Tribute

    1. Thanks! I hadn’t heard of the song either actually – I was googling around for a song that described Paris and thought that this one fit well with my experience there. It’s a wonderful city!

  1. What a beautiful tribute to the City of Light. I love how skillfully you combine the lyrics from Elton John’s song with the photos of such beautiful works of art (oh yes, I remember it well!). Seeing these photos brings back lovely memories of walking with you around Paris–the art museums, the cool neighborhoods, the Eiffel tower, and–after an impressive search–finally locating a bakery where we could purchase some luscious French pastries!
    xoxo
    Sherrie

  2. Thanks so much, Sherrie! Paris definitely has a distinct feel and it was fun to try to convey that with pictures and song lyrics. Reading your comment brought me right back enjoying Paris together that weekend. What a memorable visit!

Leave a Reply

